Wednesday, May 28, 2014

40K is dead, long live the new 40K

The sky has fallen and everyone is all hot and bothered about the new daemon factory psychic phase.  Everyone is crying that their favorite Deathstar is nerfed or that they lost Jaws of the World Wolf, etc.

I give you one of the new Deathstars.















Along with the just released FAQ:












There you have it, 5-10 FarSeers that do NOT suffer Perils of the Warp.  There is no restriction that disallows Jetbikes.  They will successfully cast Invisibility along with a handful of other spells.

From your Main force take an Autarch on a jetbike for grenades and other goodies, and to kick it up a notch consider giving one of this unit's FarSeers the Mantle of the Laughing God. for Stealth & Shrouded plus Hit & Run.  You can add rune of warding to each FarSeer for a 10 points each to get 5(or more) one shot +2 buffs to deny the witch. Fully loaded the Farseers are 130 points each plus 40 points for the Mantle, so yes its a minimum of 690 points for just the 5 dudes.

Now this list should not win you any friends, but it is far more cost effective ( in terms of real money) than buying a shipping container full of daemons.








13 comments:

  1. You can't join units if equipped with the Mantle of the Laughing God, but 5 farseers on jetbikes with runes of warding and an autarch on bike thrown in for good measure, and maybe the Baron, would be phenomenal.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. You are right a characterwith the mantle cannot join other units. However they can be joined. So if this FarSeer council is 5 independant characters the 4 base ones join the one with the Mantle. Or If they are meant to remain a unit of 5+ adding the mantle does not kick the farseer out of the unit. If it had wording similar to the Space Wolves lone wolf saying that the bearer now was a unit of one that could not join others or be joined then this would not work. In the old 2 farseer + warlock council you could not use the mantle becasue the Farseer had to join the Warlocks.

      Delete
  2. Are Apocalypse Formations the same as normal Formations from Dataslates?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It is a non-restricted (by the rules at least) formation. It has no Lords of War units. See page 122 (I think) for rules for adding formations to your army. So yes it is same as the dataslates

      Delete
  3. Is it worth pointing out that this is an apoc formation? Not used in standard games?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Its worth noting that in 7th ed non-restricted formations (like this one) can be added to an army.

      Delete
    2. There is nothing in the rulebook even close to suggesting that Apocalypse Formations can are the same as Formations, I have no idea where you've pulled that idea from, all the information on Formations is on page 121, nothing there about "non-restricted formations", you've entirely made that up.

      Delete
  4. Umm, this is an Apocalypse Formation... Not sure you can use these in standard games.

    ReplyDelete
  5. and that it is out of Apoc errata. Sure you have deathstar in Apoc. And D-weapons up the wazoo.

    ReplyDelete
  6. Hope you never face a GK Stormraven... The missiles causing Perils during the shooting phase will be problematic until they get FAQ'd at least...

    ReplyDelete
  7. I think those missiles won't do much if the Seers are immune to the effect they cause...

    ReplyDelete